The Wilmslow Golf Club

Wilmslow Golf Club

Martini International

The Martini International was run from 1961 and part of the European Tour from 1972 to 1983. The final event was played at Wilmslow in 1983 with Nick Faldo winning in a playoff with Jose Maria Canizares, beating him on the third extra hole after the Spaniard lipped-out from a foot away.
15th May 1983 – Nick Faldo -12 with scores of 67-69-66-66=268

1983 was the year that Faldo finished top of the Order of Merit with 5 European Tour victories, including the one at Wilmslow.

Martini International
KNUTSFORD, ENGLAND - MAY 15: Nick Faldo of England with the trophy after his win in the Martini International at Wilmslow Golf Club on May 15, 1983 in Knutsford, England. (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

Winners of the Martini International
1983 Nick Faldo
1982 Bernard Gallacher
1981 Greg Norman
1980 Seve Ballesteros
1979 Greg Norman
1978 Seve Ballesteros
1977 Greg Norman
1976 Sam Torrance
1975 Christy O'Connor Jr
1974 Stewart Ginn
1973 Maurice Bembridge
1972 Brian Barnes
1971 Bernard Gallacher
1970 Douglas Sewell
1969 Alex Caygill
1968 Brian Huggett
1967 Malcolm Gregson
1966 Peter Alliss
1965 Peter Butler
1964 Christy O'Connor Sr
1963 Neil Coles
1962 Peter Thomson
1961 Bernard Hunt

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.